A new Pokemon Direct is due January 9

Is a large update for Pokemon Sword and Shield on the way?

A Pokémon Direct will be broadcast 6:30 am PT, January 9.

Nintendo has announced that a new Direct broadcast is coming this week, and it’s all about those little critters that fit in your pocket. 

According to the announcement tweet, the Pokémon Direct will feature a chunky 20 minutes of new Pokémon information, most of it likely pertaining to Sword and Shield updates.

When and where to watch the January Pokemon Direct

The Pokémon Direct will take place on January 9 at 6:30 am PT (9:30 am ET, 14:30 GMT, 23:30 JST). 

You can watch the stream live from a YouTube steam on the Nintendo account. We’ve embedded it below for easy viewing, or alternatively you can visit the official Direct page. Prefer Twitch? Click here to visit the Nintendo Channel.

Though no details have been announced just yet, many fans have been clamoring for a reveal of an old region to explore, namely Diamond and Pearl’s Sinnoh. Expect a few Pokémon Go updates to be thrown in as well. Hey, we might even get some kind of info on a Pokémon Masters update too.

Could we see any news of futher Pokémon Let’s Go Eevee/Pikachu style remakes? It seems a bit soon after the launch of Pokémon Sword and Shield, but the fact that Nintendo is releasing a dedicated direct for the series does indicate some form of big announcement is on the way.

There has been talk of a January Nintendo Direct rattling around the interwebs for some time, but most expected a general showcase with a reveal of the fifth and final DLC character for Super Smash Bros. Ultimate’s Fighter Pass 1. As expected, some aren’t taking the news that it’s a purely Pokémon show all that well.

Don’t worry Smash fans, we’re sure Nintendo will have some news for you soon enough.

Associate Editor

Henry Stenhouse serves an eternal punishment as the Associate Editor of AllGamers. He spent his younger life studying the laws of physics, even going so far as to complete a PhD in the subject before video game journalism stole his soul. Confess your love of Super Smash Bros. via email at henry.stenhouse@allgamers.com, or catch him on Twitter.

Load Comments

Keyboards

Shop Now

Xbox Products

Shop Now