How to Save in Days Gone

Learn how to manually save your game progress in Days Gone.

With Days Gone being based around its main campaign, learning how to save the game is key when it comes to progressing through the story. In fact, learning how to save is one of the first things we recommend in Days Gone. Unlike games that exclusively utilize an auto-save functionality, Days Gone also offers the option to manually save.

To help lock down all of your hard work in Days Gone, we’ve put together a quick guide breaking down how to save in Days Gone!

How to Save in Days Gone

In Days Gone, you won't be able to use the quick save feature if enemies are nearby.
In Days Gone, you won't be able to use the quick save feature if enemies are nearby.
© SIE Bend Studio

As with most modern games, Days Gone boasts an internal auto-save feature that regularly updates as you complete tasks within the game. For example, after you trigger and watch a cutscene, your progress should save automatically. In addition to this basic auto-save, there’s also a way to manually save your game progress.

Based on our experience with Days Gone, we strongly recommend getting into the habit of manually saving your game. Not only does this make doubly sure your progress is stored, it can also help ease anxiety when closing out of the game. Keep in mind there are technically two ways to manually save: the long way, and a quick save.

To use the quick save functionality, you’ll either need to have Deacon inside of a safe area or near his motorcycle. For example, you won’t be able to use the quick save feature if you’re too close to an Infestation Zone, enemies are alerted, etc. If you’re in a safe area and wish to use the quick save in Days Gone, simply tap the Triangle button on your PlayStation 4 controller.

In doing so, you’ll be able to quickly save your progress. To manually save in Days Gone the long way, you’ll first need to tap Options on your PlayStation 4 controller, then choose “Save Game” from the menu and wait until the game confirms your progress has been saved before exiting to the title screen.

By doing this, everything you’ve done up until the point where you initialized the “Save Game” process will be saved in a dedicated save file. For us, we tend to use quick save as much as possible, and use the long manual save before closing out of the game for the night. Of course, the way you save ultimately depends on your personal preferences as both quick saves and long, manual saves will work to preserve your progress in Days Gone.

Now that you know how to save in Days Gone, be sure to read through some of our other guides including how to unlock and use Fast Travel in Days Gone, whether or not Days Gone offers co-op multiplayer, and an estimate of how long it’ll take you to beat Days Gone.

Morgan is a writer, indie game lover, and socially awkward coffee addict. Need something? Morgan can be reached at morgan.shaver@allgamers.com or if you like, you can say hello using GIFs on Twitter.

Power

Shop Now

Nintendo Products

Shop Now
Load Comments