How to use Account Merge in Fortnite

Learn how to merge accounts with this simple guide for Fortnite.

Fortnite has quickly risen to rival Skyrim in terms of the sheer number of platforms its available on, which means many players will have downloaded the game on multiple devices. Thankfully, all your stats and glorious cosmetic skins aren’t lost if you no longer want to play on a specific console. Epic Games have provided the option to combine accounts across different platforms into a giant omni-account that’ll house all your stuff into one place. Here’s how to use the account merge feature in Fortnite.

How to use account merge in Fortnite

How to use Account Merge in Fortnite
© Epic Games

Using the account merge feature will let you move all of your data from an account on one platform, and shift it into an existing account on another. You will lose the account you’re moving the data from, so only do this if you no longer want to play on that platform. For example, if you used to play on Xbox One but now want to continue on PS4 or Switch, this will move your data over and close the Xbox account. Yes, thankfully even PS4 players can make use of this.

Merging accounts is thankfully pretty pain-free, but there are a few conditions that need to be met first. These are as follows:

  • Both accounts must not be banned or disabled.
  • You must have access to the email accounts linked to both accounts.
  • One account must have been played on the Xbox One or Switch, and the other on PlayStation 4 before September 28, 2019.

That means you’ll have the majority of this year to decide which platform you want to play on before you’re locked in for good. Before you begin, it’s worth reiterating that the following process is permanent. Once you complete the account merge, the account you’re moving from will be deleted forever.

It’s also worth noting that while everything from Battle Royale will make the jump across, your Save the World progress will only transfer the following things:

  • Llamas
  • Defenders
  • Heroes
  • Schematics
  • Survivors
  • XP
  • Evolution
  • Perk materials

If you’re unsure about losing something valuable, check the Epic Games website for the full list. Finally, while your items and V-Bucks will be transferred, it’ll take two weeks before they actually move over, so keep that in mind before you begin.

Right then, now that you’re sure, here’s how to complete an account merge in Fortnite:

  1. Visit the Account Merge page on the Epic Games website.
  2. Choose your primary account (the one to keep) and sign in.
  3. Choose your secondary account (the one to be merged and deleted).
  4. Check the details are correct before continuing.
  5. Check both linked email accounts to verify the account merge.

With that your Fortnite account merge is complete! You’ll now need to wait two weeks before the items and V-Bucks are moved over, so be patient as you wave farewell to your old account.

Using the account merge feature in Fortnite is easy, but you should definitely be certain you don’t mind losing the account you choose to merge from before doing so. Be sure to check out the other tips and tricks we have for Fortnite here on AllGamers!

Associate Editor

Henry Stenhouse serves an eternal punishment as the Associate Editor of AllGamers. He spent his younger life studying the laws of physics, even going so far as to complete a PhD in the subject before video game journalism stole his soul. Confess your love of Super Smash Bros. via email at henry.stenhouse@allgamers.com, or catch him on Twitter.

Xbox Products

Shop Now

Nintendo Products

Shop Now
Load Comments