The Quarry turns back the clock with '50s outfits DLC

And they're free, if you grab them soon.

The Quarry plays with plenty of horror tropes from the past, but its surprise new Halloween DLC takes the game's cast back to the classics.

The ‘50s Throwback Character Outfits Pack adorns the game’s playable characters in retro attire fit for the colorless cinematic era. The new looks were shown off in a special Red Band trailer released by publisher 2K. A trailer which is so violent you’ll have to head to it directly to watch for yourself.

1950s attire means a mix of tight Greaser T-shirts, button-up blouses and woolen jumpers, none of which will offer any increased protection against the monsters and meanies lurking in the Hackett’s Quarry woods.

the quarry 1950s outfits dlc
 
© Supermassive Games

Particular highlights include the new looks for Emma and Abigail, which take clear inspiration from Scooby Doo Mystery Gang members Daphne and Velma, respectively. Emma is even sporting Daphne’s iconic yellow neckerchief, so try not to ruin the effect with too much blood when you head in for a new playthrough – red is Fred’s color, after all.

The Quarry’s 1950’s DLC pack is free to download for all players right now. However, it will only remain free until November 1 at 10am PT (1pm ET / 6pm BST / 7pm CEST). Once that window is up, you’ll need to splash out $4.99 (£3.99) to grab the retro clothing. Pick it up within the free window, though, and it’s yours for good.

If you’ve yet to try The Quarry, the Standard and Deluxe editions of the game are also currently discounted by 40% on Steam.

The quarry 1950s dlc poster
 
© Supermassive Games

The most recent release from Until Dawn and The Dark Pictures developer Supermassive Games, The Quarry follows a group of camp counselors who stay one night too many after the kids they’ve been looking after head home in late summer. As mysterious figures and monsters begin to appear in the surrounding woods, players must make decisions and react quickly enough to keep the cast alive, or choose to condemn them to a grizzly fate.

The Quarry is available on PC, PlayStation, and Xbox.

Associate Editor

Henry Stenhouse serves an eternal punishment as the Associate Editor of AllGamers. He spent his younger life studying the laws of physics, even going so far as to complete a PhD in the subject before video game journalism stole his soul. Confess your love of Super Smash Bros. via email at henry.stenhouse@allgamers.com, or catch him on Twitter.

Load Comments

Storage

Shop Now

Playstation Products

Shop Now