The Mario movie is getting its own Nintendo Direct this week

Let's-a-go watch.

Nintendo has announced a new Nintendo Direct, but this one won’t feature any game content. No, this Thursday’s Direct will be focussed entirely on the upcoming Super Mario Bros. Movie.

The Mario movie Nintendo Direct was announced today via Nintendo’s social media accounts. The broadcast promises to include the world premiere trailer for the film.

The post also grants a first peek at what the film will look like. Unlike the real-world antics of the 1993 Super Mario Bros. film, the new movie will embrace the colorful, CGI world from the iconic video games.

The first poster for the movie shows Mario standing in a bustling street, looking ahead at a chunk of the mushroom Kingdom. Princess Peach’s castle can be seen sitting atop a raised land chunk in the distance. 

There are loads of classic Mario details and characters visible, including Toads, warp pipes, P Switches. There even appears to be a nod to Donkey Kong, with a barrel hanging in the street with the POW block logo on the side.

The Super Mario Bros. movie Nintendo Direct will take place on October 6th at the following times:

  • 1:05pm PT 
  • 4:05pm ET
  • 9:05pm BST
  • 10:05pm CEST

When the film adaptation was first announced, it raised more than a few eyebrows due to its oddly selected star-studded cast. Playing the lead red plumber is Jurassic World’s Chris Pratt, while other stars include Anya Taylor-Joy (Queen’s Gambit) as Peach, Charlie Day as Luigi, Jack Black as Bowser, Keegan-Michael Key as Toad, and Seth Rogen as Donkey Kong.

The movie was originally planned to release in December 2022 but was delayed until spring 2023. The Super Mario Bros. movie will now arrive in North American cinemas on April 7 and in Japanese cinemas on April 28.

Associate Editor

Henry Stenhouse serves an eternal punishment as the Associate Editor of AllGamers. He spent his younger life studying the laws of physics, even going so far as to complete a PhD in the subject before video game journalism stole his soul. Confess your love of Super Smash Bros. via email at henry.stenhouse@allgamers.com, or catch him on Twitter.

Load Comments

Memory

Shop Now

Keyboards

Shop Now