Mario + Rabbids: Sparks of Hope release date set for October

And this time Bowser is buddying for the fight.

The Mario + Rabbids: Sparks of Hope release date has been confirmed as October 20, 2022.

Ubisoft’s small-scale strategy sequel filled with Mushroom Kingdom stars has finally had its release date confirmed courtesy of today’s Nintendo Direct Mini: Partner Showcase. A new gameplay trailer revealed during the broadcast showed off the sequel’s freeform movement system and a range of new team and combat interactions.

Mario + Rabbids sparks of hope release date trailer
 
© Ubisoft

We got a good look at the new Rabbid Rosalina in action during the trailer as she springs off a teammate to hover through the air on a drone. She comes toting a Luma weapon that spews out star bits towards her enemies. Bob-ombs can also be grabbed from the environment – toss them before they explode and they can set off a chain reaction of damage to take out your opponents. 

The trailer also revealed that Mario series villain Bowser will be joining the fray as a playable character. The green-shelled koopa king appears briefly totaling a mighty cannon/rocket launcher on one shoulder.

Further details on Mario + Rabbids: Sparks of Hope are due to be unveiled tomorrow as part of a special showcase on the Ubisoft Twitch and YouTube channels. That’ll take place at 9am PT (12pm ET / 5pm BST / 6pm CEST).

The Nintendo Direct Mini: Partner Showcase packed in plenty of other reveals, including the launch of Persona 5 Royal, Persona 4 Golden, and Persona 3 Portable for the Switch on October 21. October is looking like a busy month for Switch owners, as there was also the announcement of Nier: Automata: The End of Yorha Edition coming to Switch on October 6. Check out the entire run of announcements in the full Nintendo Direct Mini: Partner Showcase embedded below.

Mario + Rabbids: Sparks of Hope will launch for Nintendo Switch on October 20, 2022.

Associate Editor

Henry Stenhouse serves an eternal punishment as the Associate Editor of AllGamers. He spent his younger life studying the laws of physics, even going so far as to complete a PhD in the subject before video game journalism stole his soul. Confess your love of Super Smash Bros. via email at henry.stenhouse@allgamers.com, or catch him on Twitter.

Load Comments

Headsets

Shop Now

Mics

Shop Now