A new PlayStation State of Play is coming tomorrow

Sony promises a 'special focus on games from our Japan publishers.'

The next PlayStation State of Play broadcast has been announced on short notice. It’s due to be broadcast tomorrow, and promises roughly “20 minutes of PS4 & PS5 first looks and updates.”

The March 9 State of Play will be broadcast at the following times:

  • 2pm PT
  • 5pm ET
  • 10pm GMT
  • 11pm CET

As with any new State of Play info drop announcement, the internet is already rife with fans desperate to see their most anticipated games in action or to get an update for favorite recent releases. This time, however, Sony is aiming to set expectations early. The announcement post for the PS4 and PS5 State of Play confirms that the broadcast will offer “a special focus on highlighting great games coming from some of our beloved Japanese publishers.” 

Playstation State of Play March 9
 
© Sony

In short, don’t expect any major God of War: Ragnarok reveals tomorrow, no matter how excited you may be. Given the "beloved Japanese publishers" descriptor could refer to anything from Capcom showing off Resident Evil DLC to Square Enix giving another look at their upcoming Final Fantasy titles, there’s still plenty of room for more targeted speculation over the next day.

One thing that won’t be included? PlayStation VR2. The next-gen headset finally had its looks unveiled last month, though Sony is staying tight-lipped about its eventual release date.

The March 9 State of Play will be watchable on the PlayStation YouTube channel or Twitch channel, so take your pick and tune in tomorrow at 2pm PT.

Associate Editor

Henry Stenhouse serves an eternal punishment as the Associate Editor of AllGamers. He spent his younger life studying the laws of physics, even going so far as to complete a PhD in the subject before video game journalism stole his soul. Confess your love of Super Smash Bros. via email at henry.stenhouse@allgamers.com, or catch him on Twitter.

Load Comments

Nintendo Products

Shop Now

Xbox Products

Shop Now