Smash Ultimate Playing for Pride charity tournament takes place this weekend

Smash that donate button.

Play for Pride is a Super Smash Bros. Ultimate charity tournament taking place this weekend in support of the Stonewall Foundation and in celebration of LGBTQ gamers.

Smash Ultimate’s online play is rather notorious for featuring significant input delay as well as regular bouts of lag, making it controversial among the competitive community. However, when it’s raising money for a good cause, plenty of players seem happy to put their usual qualms aside to join in the fun and fundraising. 

Playing for pride smash ultimate charity tournament

Along with a $1500 prize pool, the Playing for Pride tournament promises to feature several famous names from the Super Smash Bros. esports community. The name that'll draw the most eyes immediately is Smash Ultimate superstar Leonardo “MkLeo” Lopez, who'll be vying for the tournament top spot. Rivaling him are plenty of other top Ultimate players including Mr. R, Maister, Pandarian, Bestness and more. Melee god Juan “Hungrybox” Debiedma — no stranger to trying his hand at Ultimate online — will also be taking part in the event.

The Play for Pride charity tournament is sponsored by our very own HyperX. Throughout the event, HyperX will be providing prizes for hourly giveaways including T-shirts, tote bags, peripherals and more. In addition, anyone who makes it to the Top 32 will receive a prize from HyperX, with the Top 3 receiving special, individual prizes.

The tournament is due to start at 11am PT (2pm ET / 7pm BST) on June 20. Continuing the next day, the Top 32 segment is scheduled to start at 12pm PT (3pm ET / 8pm BST) on June 21, with Top 8 marked down for 4pm PT.  Brackets will be best-of-three until Top 32,  at which point the tournament will swap to a best-of-five-series.

Registration is open until June 17 so there’s still time to sign up if you want to take part, but be aware that stringent connection and lag restrictions are in place to ensure a fair (and watchable) competition. Donations are also already open, and you can help the tournament kick off in impressive style by heading over to the donations page right now. Keep track of the event itself by heading to the Smash.gg page for the tournament by clicking here.

Associate Editor

Henry Stenhouse serves an eternal punishment as the Associate Editor of AllGamers. He spent his younger life studying the laws of physics, even going so far as to complete a PhD in the subject before video game journalism stole his soul. Confess your love of Super Smash Bros. via email at henry.stenhouse@allgamers.com, or catch him on Twitter.

Load Comments

Power

Shop Now

Xbox Products

Shop Now